Vocal Toning the Chakras

Vocal Toning the Chakras

A while back I promised to write about toning, which is the chanting of notes or tones of the scale in a meditative state.  I started toning last March and within 6 weeks of regular practice, my energy had shifted dramatically and by the summer I was ready to take my Light Body Process up a notch. Toning made my whole energetic body feel clearer so I was able to really recognize my own energy signature. In turn, I felt more secure, empowered and had clearer boundaries with others. 

I learned to tone from reading Ronna Herman´s book Scripting Your Destiny, co-written with AA Michael.  I was led to this book because many of the techniques in it have helped me to move past spiritual plateaus and bring me to the next level in my spiritual evolution, and so I highly recommend it.  You can browse all Ronna´s books here. 

I find toning easiest and most effective first thing after waking up.  I´ve done it in the daytime at the lake, on the subway (under my breath) when I felt I had too much outside energetic interference; I´ve done it at night, then had trouble falling asleep. I like doing it in the morning because I find I can hit the notes better for some reason and the whole meditation has a deeper effect since I am so refreshed from sleep. Additionally, it “sets” my aura for the day. 

At first toning may feel silly to do or you might be insecure that you aren´t doing it right. For me it was a great exercise in learning to accept my voice. Are you one of those people who hates the sound of her voice on recordings?  Yup, me, too.  When I first began this kind of chanting, I would listen to a cd with the tones on it with headphones.  With baby steps I began humming along, trying to match my voice to the sounds I was hearing on the cd.  Then eventually when I really started try singing, I liked that the headphones canceled out my voice. I couldn´t hear if I was bad or good, but I could really focus on “feeling” whether the vibration was right and I wasn´t put off by all my wrong notes and off-key pitch!

The cd I use is Jonathan Goldman´s Chakra Chants. I have other productions by this same artist which I cherish for their efficacy as sound healing tools.  If you have a musical background or can already chant quite competently, then you might not need a cd at all, or even a virtual piano to help you get the notes right.  Below I´ll explain the technique, which is really very easy; anyone can do this. Like I said, at first it might take a bit of practice to stabilize your voice and get a clear sound.  But like many skills, practice makes perfect!

Sit in a comfortable position. I like to sit legs-crossed with my back supported by the headboard of my bed or a hard cushion.  This takes the strain off the muscles in my back.

Since the purpose of toning is to clear out the chakras with soundwaves, you might want to just work on one or two sounds at first.  I did this. I knew I had some issues especially with my 2nd chakra so for 2 weeks, I only worked on this sound, strengthening the chakra and cleaning it out with one tone.  Then I moved on to other sounds slowly until I felt confident enough to play around with them. Now I do all the chakras, starting with root and moving up to crown, spending more time on the notes that aren´t as clear.  When a note quivers a lot, to me it means that the chakra is blocked and the voice is being met with resistance from energetic blockages of the chakra related to the tone.  The more often you chant the tone, the faster you will clear this resistance and the note will take on a clearer, deeper, more resonant sound.  Additionally, as you meditate only on these sounds, you clear your mind of all sorts of junk from 3D life and enter a wonderful state of calm.

The Technique

Put your headphones on and listen to the first track, which is the chant for the root chakra.  Alternatively, you can just use the “C” note on the virtual piano, or intend to hit this frequency if you know your scale.  Middle C was too low for me to hit for many months. Instead, I just “intended” to chant the frequency, knowing that I would still reap the benefits through my firm intention to do so. 

Always begin with at least one of the first 3 chakras to ground your meditation. The root chakra vowel sound is “UH”.  If the note is too low to form the vowel, you can even try a grunt. Work with the sound, trying to hold the note as long as you can. Do not strain your voice! The note will quiver near the end as you are running out of breath, which is normal.  Next time, stop chanting a little earlier, to form a clean, closed note, without a quivering tail.  With practice your notes will get longer and become more stable.

Now take a deep breath from the belly or diaphragm.  Do this a few times to bring you back to center and as you listen again for the frequency you want to match; there´s no need to rush.  Now inhale and on the exhale, chant the note again, letting the air come out smoothly as you and hold the note as long as it feels right.  Do this repetitively for at least 2 to 3 minutes the move on to any of the chakra tones you wish to work on. If you are just doing one tone, as little as 5 minutes a day will make a big difference in that chakra. But you´ll find it so relaxing I´ll be you end up chanting for 10 or 15 minutes.  When I first started chanting I was surprised just how good it made me feel. I did it for as long as I felt was necessary.

Root chakra- C note, “UH” sound.

Sacral chakra- D note, “OO” sound.

Solar Plexus- E note, “OH” sound.

Heart chakra- F note, “AH” sound.

Throat chakra- G note, “EYE” sound

Third Eye- A note, “AY” sound

Crown chakra- B note, “EEE” sound.

After you have finished your toning session, sit quietly for a few minutes to absorb the healing effects of this technique. Much like savasana, the “corpse pose” in yoga, sitting quietly now will integrate the benefits of all the effort you just exerted. You may experience visions, ringing sounds, a deep sense of clarity or just a feeling of warm, calming fuzziness all over.  Enjoy it!

Toning Breaks up “Dark Crytals”

My experience as a beginner was that the notes were very unsteady and fluctuated up and down a lot. This was to be expected as the whole reason for chanting was to clear out the chakras.  The unsteady sound and wavering represented blockages in my chakras. 

Chakras are nodes of concentrated impulses related to the human emotional spectrum.  They form a column along the spine that runs from the perineum to the top of the head and beyond (see picture). 

Vocal toning the chakras

Each chakra is responsible for a set of emotions and psychological behaviors and each set has its own distinct frequency “signature” represented as an energetic charge.  When any emotional trauma occurs, the chakra it relates to will be sounded or hit upon, like a bell, but with a distorted frequency. If no trauma occurs, but an aligned or positive experience of that emotion, then the chakra is simply sounded. If you are sensitive, you can feel these charges as positive feelings.

Let me try to give you an analogy. Think of it like a tin bell.  If you get emotional validation as it´s supposed to be, nurturing and supportive, then the bell responsible for loving relationships will simply be sounded or the bell will reverberate “in tune”. But if you experience abandonment by a person you love deeply, the bell that is responsible this same emotional set will be “dented” because the sound is out of tune, or not in alignment with its true energy signature. The new sound doesn´t fit the mould.

Through repetition, that particular bell, or chakra will hold on to the out of tune frequencies of the trauma and store it inside. The frequency acts like a signal, programming the chakra with an emotional charge.  As this “out of tune” frequency is repeated and re-experienced, the frequency crystallizes or “hardens”, forming blocks and polarizing the chakra. Sound wave healing like toning helps break up these “dark crystals” much like electronic impulses can zap away cellulite or focused heat can melt ice.   You will notice this working if you continue chanting over a period of weeks; and if you do some inner psychological homework associated with the chakra you are trying to clear-out, you will intensify your learning curve (You can find these types of exercises in Scripting  Your Destiny).

Have you ever done chanting or toning before? Do you work with tuning forks, tibetan bowls or crystal singing bowls? What were your experiences?

 

Leave a Reply

